Season 2013 - 2014

The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

November 20 - December 7, 2014

Music and Lyrics by William Finn Book by Rachel Sheinkin Conceived by Rebecca Feldman Additional Material by Jay Reiss
Harriet S. Jorgensen Theatre


PutnamIt is the 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee – and six quirky adolescents are competing for the title of champion.  A witty, clever and sophisticated story provides an incredibly nuanced and sensitive look at the oddity of competition that is a spelling bee.  The Tony Award winner for Best Book, Spelling Bee is a heartwarming, yet eccentric look at the emotional impact of competition.  We’re sure that this hilarious musical will cast its spell on Y-O-U.

online-tickets-graphic-email

GUEST SPELLERS
Thursday Nov 20 – Jen McIntyre, UConn Women’s Softball Coach, Mike Young, Sweet Emotions Candy Shop
Friday Nov 21 – Denise Merill, CT Secretary of State / Salome Raheim, Dean, School of Social Work
Saturday Nov 22 – Mark Zinni, Anchor, WFSB Ch. 3 Evening News / Renee DiNino, Director of Public Affairs, I HEART MEDIA
Wednesday Dec 3 – Dr. David Mills, Director of Bands and Marvin McNeill, Assistant Director of Athletic Bands, Jim Penders, UConn Men’s Baseball Coach, Susan Ouelette, Director of Marketing for Savings Institute Bank and Trust, Michael Buckley, YouTube Star of the WhatTheBuckShow
Thursday Dec 4 - Sally M. Reis, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Friday Dec 5 - CT State Rep. Gregg Haddad, CT State Rep Mae Flexer, Richard Schwab, Dean, Neag School of Education
Saturday Dec 6 - Stay tuned – it could be you!
Sunday Dec 7 – Dr. Lucy Gilson, Professor and Director of Geno Auriemma Leadership Conference

MEET THE SPELLERS:

 

Buy Tickets Online

Thursday November 20, 7:30 pm - Preview

Friday November 21, 8:00 pm - Opening Night

Saturday November 22, 8:00 pm

Wednesday December 3, 7:30 pm

Thursday December 4, 7:30 pm

Friday December 5, 8:00 pm

Saturday December 6, 2:00 pm

Saturday December 6, 8:00 pm

Sunday December 7, 2:00 pm

Lysistrata

Lysistrata

February 26 - March 8, 2015

By Aristophanes
Nafe Katter Theatre

This past decade of almost continuous warfare in the Middle East has left an indelible mark on American theatre by challenging us to examine war in its complexity and consequences through the re-examination of the Ancient Greek war plays.  Sitting slyly among the war tragedies is Aristophanes’ outrageous war comedy, Lysistrata. One woman’s crusade to end the Peloponnesian War leads to the women of Greece withholding sex from their husbands and lovers to force a peace accord.  As the siege takes hold, soldiers will beat their swords into…well, you know. This raucous, bawdy happy idea of a play by the “father of comedy” calls us to seriously consider war through no-holds-barred laughter.

Buy Tickets Online

Thursday February 26, 7:30 pm - Preview

Friday February 27, 8:00 pm - Opening Night

Saturday February 28, 8:00 pm

Wednesday March 4, 7:30 pm

Thursday March 5, 7:30 pm

Friday March 6, 8:00 pm

Saturday March 7, 2:00 pm

Saturday February 7, 8:00 pm

Sunday March 8, 2:00 pm

BlackHand

Band of the Black Hand

March 26 - April 4, 2015

By Split Knuckle Theatre Guided by Greg Webster and Bart Roccoberton
Studio Theatre

Private Dick Jack Stone is hired to solve the savage murder of a young dock worker Charlie De Wit. There’s a brutal gang war on in Capital City and the Band of the Black Hand is taking over from the Streets to the Mayor’s office.  As Stone journeys into the depths of Capital City, he begins to feel the clutch of the Black Hand.  Join Split Knuckle Theatre and the Connecticut Repertory Theatre for this joint production exploring the sensual, dark, and mysterious world of Film Noir, in a show that incorporates modern Indonesian shadow puppetry and jazz music.

Buy Tickets Online

Thursday March 26, 7:30 pm - Preview

Friday March 27, 8:00 pm - Opening Night

Saturday March 28, 2:00 pm

Saturday March 28, 8:00 pm

Sunday March 29, 2:00 pm

Wednesday April 1, 7:30 pm

Thursday April 2, 7:30 pm

Friday April 3, 8:00 pm

Saturday April 4, 2:00 pm

Saturday April 4, 8:00 pm

Midsummer

A Midsummer Night’s Dream

April 23 - May 3, 2015

By William Shakespeare
Harriet S. Jorgensen Theatre

The season ends with William Shakespeare’s most popular comedy, an imaginative and fantastic romp about love and its many complications.  As the Duke of Athens prepares to wed his Amazonian queen, four lovers flee from their overbearing parents into an enchanted forest, where they become unknowingly embroiled in the battle between high-spirited sprites Oberon and Titania, the king and queen of the faeries.  The delightfully, madcap antics of Shakespeare’s cast of characters provides a magical exploration of love, lust and marriage and illustrates just how other worldly love can be.

Buy Tickets Online

Thursday April 23, 7:30 pm - Preview

Friday April 24, 8:00 pm - Opening Night

Saturday April 25, 8:00 pm

Wednesday April 29, 7:30 pm

Thursday April 30, 7:30 pm

Friday May 1, 8:00 pm

Saturday May 2, 2:00 pm

Saturday May 2, 8:00 pm

Sunday May 3, 2:00 pm

Past Shows